Next Cook The Books Selection: French Lessons, Adventures with Knife, Fork and Corkscrew

9 09 2009

french-lessons

Hello everyone!

Just a reminder that our next book is Peter Mayle’sFrench Lessons: Adventures with Knife, Fork, and Corkscrew”a joyous exploration and celebration of the infinite gastronomic pleasures of France. Mayle (http://www.petermayle.com/) visits France’s most exciting foodfestivals, such as the Foire aux Grenouilles (frog thigh festival) in  Vittel, la Foire au Fromages (cheese festival) at Livarot or the Medoc Marathon in Burgundy where runners refresh themselves with bottles of expensive red wines. His tone is funny and relaxed and he makes you feel you’re on holiday too!

Mayle loves France and her people. Born in Brighton U.K. he and his wife live in Provence (South of France) . He is the author of  many books, such as “A Year in Provence”, “Chasing Cezanne” and “A Good Year” and has has contributed to The Sunday Times, the Financial Times, The Independent, GQ, and Esquire.

THE DEADLINE IS: Sunday, November 8th.

Please email me ( jdimopoulosATgmail.com) when your post is up and remember to link both here and to my blog (jodimop.wordpress.com), as I am hosting this round.
Thank you!

Jo

Actions

Information

9 responses

11 09 2009
Rachel

Ooh la la. Am enjoying tucking into this one.

11 09 2009
maria verivaki

a tough one – i’m thinking snails and frogs’ legs…

12 09 2009
Foodycat

I didn’t love it. Which is weird, because I loved A Year In Provence and Toujours Provence.

20 10 2009
Ty's Mommy

I just finished the book and I really enjoyed it. I have two recipes in mind and I can’t wait to try them and get them posted!

25 10 2009
27 10 2009
Rachel

I have my French Lessons post up too, now! Looking forward to a fine, Gallic roundup.

28 10 2009
maria v

mine will be up on november 3 (my internet connection isnt woking at the moment, so i dont know if i’ll have a chance to tell you once it actually is up!)

1 11 2009
Can't Believe We Ate...

I’m struggling for inspiration… I’ve never been lucky enough to experience France. I live in an area where unique ingredients are challenging to acquire… I’m not even sure I can find escargot in tins at this point! Truffles…not. Frog legs? Rarely. Bordeaux? Perhaps, 3 towns over, and 75 miles south. The read was interesting enough…but not quite inspirational as far as cooking. It inspired me to pay attention to regional food festivals…and that’s kind of scary… Locally, we have a Salmon festival. In the fall…when the Salmon has beaten itself senseless trying to reach the land of its’ birth. Bruised, bloody salmon…what an enchanting vision… There’s also a Prune festival nearby… Olives? See? I think the olives may win. Even then though…it’s not like it happens at a convenient time for this book event! LOL! I’m searching…

3 11 2009
DebinHawaii

Leave a Reply

