Where Shall We Travel for A Taste of Adventure with Anik See?

28 12 2009

I hope everyone is enjoying a lovely holiday season full of good times with friends and family and festive food and drink, peppered with quieter times for relaxation and reading.  If you haven’t found out already, my CTB co-hostess in Athens, Greece welcomed a miniature Food Junkie into the world a few weeks ago.  You can find out the details about   Johanna’s new baby girl and I know we all wish mother, father and family much happiness with their sweet little one.

Our armchair travels with our featured author, Anik See, in her book “A Taste for Adventure” take us to many parts of the globe, and we travel along with her at a leisurely pace by bicycle.  This perambulation allows for an immersion in the local environment and interaction with residents that are immediate and intense.  I love the chapter on Georgia, where Anik and cycling mate Doug are flagged down by two men who had passed them in their truck earlier in the day and had shot ahead to set up a six hour impromptu feast for their new friends that evening.  The next day, this avalanche of hospitality is reproduced at the home of a farmer the two merely hail for information about where to camp overnight and again and again during the “knee-aching climbs” through the Georgian landscape, our traveling pair is loaded with produce, food gifts, overnight stays, impromptu feasts and wine, wine and more wine.

Thank you to the Graphics Fairy for this image.

I am still savoring this book, wondering which part of the world as described so vividly in See’s book, will inspire my Cook the Books post and yours.  Will it be Georgia?  Or Malaysia?  Patagonia or Armenia? Or Turkey, Iran, Mexico, Canada, Singapore, Indonesia, Argentina or Thailand?  Or perhaps I will be inspired to hop on my own bike and navigate the snowy crusts of upstate New York to find an adventure of my own?

Looking forward to your thoughts on the book and your posts……

Actions

Information

12 responses

28 12 2009
My Year on the Grill

I am on target… read the book (loved it)…

picked a recipe, and now I am ready to cook!

28 12 2009
Foodycat

I loved this book so much! I’m also ready to cook, hopefully next weekend.

29 12 2009
Arlene

Read the book. Inspiration has not been forthcoming. I have to agree that the Georgian chapter was the best read. The book is sitting on my end table encouraging me to make a decision and find something to cook. Thanks for the gentle reminder, Rachel.

29 12 2009
Natashya

I’m reading the book right now and really loving it.

30 12 2009
Glennis

That’s it. I’m shifting books! I was trying to finish one other first, but…this one keeps calling like a siren! Read a few passages and it was hard to set aside!

31 12 2009
DebinHawaii

In the process of reading it and loving it so far. So many ideas to choose from!

14 01 2010
Foodycat
16 01 2010
Rachel

I got my post written up as well. I so enjoyed rereading bits of this book. It’s a keeper! Just a reminder that our deadline is January 22 and participants should either shoot me an email when their post is live or post a comment here at this Cook the Books post. Looking forward to an exotic roundup!

19 01 2010
Natashya

My post is up! What a fun book, lots of delicious food to choose from.
http://livinginthekitchenwithpuppies.blogspot.com/2010/01/taste-for-adventure-empanadas-al.html

21 01 2010
DebinHawaii

Squeaking in at the end–my post is up finally! 😉 A great book, lots of fun to read and lots of delicious-sounding recipes!

23 01 2010
Claudia

Yea!! The book finally came, got read, enjoyed and inspired to do a dish. I’m looking forward to trying all of her recipes.

27 01 2010
Ty's Mommy

Ugh!!! I missed the deadline! Well, mine is up here anyway if you want to check it out!
http://theseventhlevelofboredom.blogspot.com/2010/01/taste-for-adventureand-nostalgia.html

Leave a Reply

