Can you feel the HEAT??

10 11 2010

I just realised today that i should have made this announcement a month ago, but i didn’t. Oh, well! I am sure that most of you know that we are currently reading Bill Buford’s  Heat: An Amateur’s Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta Maker and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany.

Buford left his job as an acclaimed writer and editor at The New Yorker to apprentice in the kitchen of Mario Batali’s Babbo restaurant, and the book follows his adventures there as well as on his journey to Italy to discover the secrets to pasta-making and pig slaughtering.

The deadline is December 3rd, so you have plenty of time to read and cook this truly exceptional book.

When you are ready please e-mail your submissions to:

jdimopoulosATfoodjunkieDOTeu

I am really looking forward to this challenge!

 

Yours truly,

 

Johanna

 

 

Actions

Information

13 responses

11 11 2010
Lexi

Thanks for the due date! I am planning on trying to join in this month. I read the last book (Mango Trees), and I have already read Heat. Now, I just have to figure out my food and post!

12 11 2010
Foodycat

Every page I read I change my mind about what to cook!

18 11 2010
Rachel

I agree with you Foodycat. I think it’s because it’s a very frenetic book, that shifts kitchens and crazed cooks quickly, so I keep shifting into different modes too about what I want to blog about and cook up. Stay tuned…..

24 11 2010
Beth Anne

You know, I have NEVER liked Mario Batali. EVER. But reading this book has me seeing him in a new light. I am having a hard time deciding what to make, too, though!

25 11 2010
Tina Marie

Good book – happy I read it 🙂 I just posted my review on my blog and will email it to the host!

28 11 2010
Natashya

I loved it, is there a follow up? Did he really go to France?

1 12 2010
DebinHawaii

Posted mine tonight. 😉 A fun book for sure!

1 12 2010
Rachel @ The Crispy Cook

And now my post is up! What a fun book. Though I think some of the other characters in Batali’s orbit were more interesting to read about than the Croc’d One. Looking forward to a great roundup on this one.

2 12 2010
Can't Believe We Ate...

What a fun read! I had fun with my dish as well…

2 12 2010
Andreas

Great choice this one.

Post is up.

3 12 2010
Beth Anne

My post is up!

3 12 2010
Kelly @ It's a Food Life

Great book. My post is up too!

4 12 2010
Simona

Why am I always running late? Anyway, my post is up now: http://briciole.typepad.com/blog/2010/12/gnocchi-di-patate-viola.html

Leave a Reply

