Would you Like to Fall under a Garden Spell With Us?

9 06 2011

It is time for a new book selection for our foodie book club and as the host for this round of Cook the Books, I have picked Sarah Addison Allen’s debut novel “Garden Spells” for our June/July reading. Ms. Allen has gone on to write a number of other bestselling novels, including “The Peach Keeper”, “The Sugar Queen” and “the Girl Who Chased the Moon”.  You can find out more about these books and investigate some recipes from main character Claire’s personal cookbook on Allen’s website.

On the recommendation of Cook the Books regular (and two time CTB winner) Heather, the Girlichef, I picked up a copy of this enchanting novel and found the combination of eccentric characters, garden and cooking themes, and a compelling story line to be irresistible. I wanted to reread the book soon and try my own hand at some of the wonderful dishes Claire the caterer whips up out of her kitchen and garden.  I also thought this book would give us a chance to investigate North Carolina style cuisine and let us fall to the siren song of summery, garden-fresh ingredients and inspire us to create magic in the kitchen.

Ms. Allen is unable to serve as our guest judge, but I am pleased to announce that Jenna of the blog Literature and a Lens will be judging our posts and picking a winner to receive the coveted Cook the Books Winner’s badge for their blog.  You can read Jenna’s perceptive review of “Garden Spells” on her blog and see some of her other recommended reading.

The deadline for submitting a post for the Cook the Books roundup is Monday, July 25, 2011, midnight Eastern Standard Time. Please leave a comment below to let me know that your post is up or send me an email at: oldsaratogabooks [at] gmail dot [com]. Remember, anyone can join in our roundup of posts. All you need to do is buy or borrow a copy of this book and then blog up your thoughts about it and a dish inspired by your reading to share with us.

Actions

Information

14 responses

10 06 2011
Arlene

Got it on my Kindle last night and am hoping to be able to participate in this one.

11 06 2011
Alicia (Foodycat)

I sped through this book – loved it! And my post will be up by the end of the week. I can’t believe how organised I am for this one.

12 06 2011
Danielle

Just found this through Ms. Bard’s facebook group!!! WOW! This is like my favorite thing (reading books AND cooking). Also finished Garden Spells unknowingly about 2 months ago and can’t wait to try something out of it! YAY!

18 06 2011
Maria @ A Platter of Figs

I LOVE this book. Have read it 6 times since I got it last year. Quircky characters, garden spells and food… what can be better? Look forward to participating in this one.

23 06 2011
DebinHawaii

It’s been fun to get back into this book which I first read a few years ago. Looking forward to seeing what everyone creates.;-)

28 06 2011
Claudia

I loved the book and will be re-reading it soon.
Have also read and really enjoyed all her other
books, thanks to this selection.

2 07 2011
Eliot

OMG! I have got to get to reading. I will have to send a pic of my book that I bought on Amazon for $.99 when I post. To quote: “Great condition, but dog chewed the tiny corner of the front bottom right. Never read.” 🙂 I don’t think they knew what they were missing.

7 07 2011
Arlene

Just posted my contribution for this one; yay! finally got my act together.
http://arlene-thefoodoflove.blogspot.com/2011/07/voluptuous-veal-piccata-for-cook-books.html

22 07 2011
eliotthecat

Just posted this morning. I can’t believe I’m early. Loved the book! http://eliotseats.com/?p=4894
Thanks!

24 07 2011
Maria

Here is my entry for Garden Spells. so much fun making it! Hope you guys enjoy it and give it a try.

http://aplatteroffigs.blogspot.com/2011/07/falling-under-spell-lemon-lavender.html

24 07 2011
Can't Believe We Ate...

I’m in for Garden Spells as well…
http://cantbelieveweate.wordpress.com/2011/07/24/cook-the-books-garden-spells/
What a fun read and inspiration!!

25 07 2011
26 07 2011
Claudia

Just in under the wire, my post is up for this really delightful book.
http://honeyfromrock.blogspot.com/2011/07/cold-borscht-with-chive-blossoms-and.html

26 07 2011
DebinHawaii

OK, it’s still Monday here! I didn’t want Claudia to be last so I am sneaking in at the last moment. 😉
http://kahakaikitchen.blogspot.com/2011/07/lemon-verbena-creme-brulee-from-herb.html

Leave a Reply

