What We’re Reading Now: A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg

8 08 2011

Food is, of course, a social thing, one of the most positive, primal ways of spending time with people, but eating alone is also an affirmation. It’s a way of enjoying me.

–Molly Wizenberg, A Homemade Life

—–

Summer is beginning to wind down and as we transition into autumn, it’s time to wander in from conjuring spells in the garden and hunker down with a new book. For our current Cook the Books pick, I have selected the foodie memoir / cookbook,  A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes From My Kitchen Table  by Molly Wizenberg.

Molly is the creator of the popular blog Orangette and a frequent contributor to Bon Appétit magazine. After her father’s death from cancer, getting back to her studies and life in Seattle didn’t feel right for grad student Molly, instead she headed for Paris, ostensibly to do research on her dissertation, but there she found herself following her heart and her stomach and turning instead to a life of food and food writing.  A Homemade Life takes us into Molly’s kitchen with the skillful combining of her reflections and recollections along with delicious recipes inspired by them–making it an excellent fit for our virtual foodie book club.

With the book, her blog, and her magazine work, everyone should find plenty of inspiration to cook along with Molly. And guess what?!?  Even though she is in the thick of writing her second book, Molly Wizenberg has graciously agreed to be our judge for this Cook the Books round and she is very excited to see what delectable dishes her book inspires.

Everyone is welcome to join in the fun–just read A Homemade Life and make a dish or meal inspired by it. Write a post featuring your dish and your thoughts about the book before the deadline of Monday, September 26th. Please leave a comment below to let me know that your post is up and/or send me an email at: debinhawaii@gmail.com. And of course, feel free to leave your comments about the book as you are reading it, anytime. 😉

Happy reading, cooking, and eating!

Actions

Information

14 responses

8 08 2011
Maria

It is so exciting that she is judging this month’s selection! I actually started reading the book before I joined the club, so I am excited with this selection.

27 08 2011
Eliot

I can’t believe she has time to judge. I bought her book last year and loved it. Have made lots of stuff from it and will revisit it for the next post. I hope everyone gets a copy of this book—you will laugh until your sides hurt but you will also need tissue handy.

5 09 2011
16 09 2011
Old Saratoga Books

Great book pick, Deb. I really enjoyed these essays and recipes. Now to get cooking!

23 09 2011
Alicia (Foodycat)

http://foodycat.blogspot.com/2011/09/white-chocolate-coeur-la-creme-for-cook.html Phew! I didn’t think I would make it to the deadline!

24 09 2011
DebinHawaii

You made it Foodycat! 😉 I forgot to link mine here but my post is up too. http://kahakaikitchen.blogspot.com/2011/09/molly-wizenbergs-banana-bread-muffins.html

24 09 2011
Alicia (Foodycat)

I seem to be running late a lot at the moment! I made the coeur a couple of weeks ago, but the post itself took ages!

25 09 2011
Eliot
25 09 2011
25 09 2011
Claudia

Just got mine up. A fun book that really got me trying things.
http://honeyfromrock.blogspot.com/2011/09/cream-braised-green-cabbage-with-seared.html

26 09 2011
27 09 2011
Tina

My post is up. I made several of Molly’s recipes – So. Good!

http://tinaculbertson.blogspot.com/2011/09/homemade-life-by-molly-wizenberg.html

27 09 2011
Jessica@The Literary Foodie

Got my post up at the last second as usual, but it’s up! Could not miss this one as it’s one of my favorites. I really enjoyed everyone’s posts and recipes, will comment soon, Enjoy!

http://literaryfoodie.blogspot.com/2011/09/another-taste-of-homemade-life.html

25 02 2015
A Homemade Life by Mollly Wizenberg | Novel Meals

[…] Cook the Books Clubs current featured book is A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg. […]

Leave a Reply

