Want to be an Outlaw in Your Own Kitchen?

17 12 2011

I am hereby announcing our formal kick-off  for the next round of Cook the Books.  I (Rachel, The Crispy Cook) will be your host and hope you all will enjoy reading John and Matt Lewis Thorne’s book “Outlaw Cook” as much as I have.  My friend Myra has been a fan of  Thorne’s food writing for many years and when I finally got my hands on a copy of “Outlaw Cook” last year it went right to the top of my teetering bedside pile. I have been reading and re-reading bits of this collection of food writing ever since and am so pleased to share it with you all in our online book club.

John Thorne has graciously agreed to serve as our Guest Judge for this round, which will end January 23, 2012.  From now until then, anyone is welcome to join in the fun by reading the book and then posting up your thoughts about it and any dish (or two) that you may be inspired to cook up. Let me know that your post is live by leaving a comment below or by sending me an email at oldsaratogabooks AT gmail dOTcom.

I hope that everyone finds some time to relax and read during this busy holiday season.

-Rachel, The Crispy Cook

(Extra Crispy this time of year!)

 

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

19 12 2011
Deb in Hawaii

I finally got my copy and got a chance to dig in this weekend. I am really enjoying it so far. So great he will be our judge. 😉

19 12 2011
Christmas Gift #10: Trail Mix Cookies for SRC « Eliot's Eats

[…] I am committed to them both.   Cook the Books is a great literary foodie club.   (Check out the current book selection.)   And I absolutely LOVE […]

19 12 2011
Eliot

OK—I need to leave well enough alone! AAUUGGHH! I accidentally deleted my Cook the Books Winner badge. Could someone email me the HTML code again? Thanks and have a happy holiday.

27 12 2011
Claudia

The book was on it’s way (I thought) then they reneged on the order, and it got canceled. Now order #2 (Amazon) is on the way, hopefully in time for me to read it.

18 01 2012
Julie

My very first Cook That Book offering is finally live – hope you enjoy. http://cookbookfetish.com/home/2012/1/17/monet-and-the-outlaw-cook.html

20 01 2012
Rachel @ The Crispy Cook

Welcome to Cook the Books Julie!

Leave a Reply

