Eating for England ROUNDUP

2 06 2010

Hello everyone!

I am really sorry it took so long to write the roundup, but I don’t even find time to write my own blog these days… So I decided, instead of  wasting more time in order produce something very well put together, with real commentary under each submission, I would just present each of the contestants and make YOU work harder by reading each person’s entry. This way they will get some traffic too!

When I chose “Eating for England” as a read for CTB I was hoping that all the “mysterious” foods and dishes described in it would provoke our readers/cooks to research, but also discover British cooking. As you will see from the roundup all entries were extremely yummy and most of us discovered new favourite flavours. So enjoy the feast below and hopefully we will have a winner soon!

Glennis from Cantbelieveweate made a mango fool.

Beth from Seventh Level of Boredom made a soft boiled egg for the first time in her life as well as treacle tart.

Claudia from Honey from Rock made  sticky toffee pudding

Andreas from Delta Kitchen made lemon and basil pasta

Wendy from Celiacs in the House made a gluten free sticky ginger cake

Heather from Girlichef made fish and chips

Simona from Briciole made digestive biscuits and Chesire cheese

Joanna from Eats well with others made chicken Tikka Masala

Natahya from Living in the kitchen with Puppies made an Amaretto Syllabub

Rachel from The Crispy Cook made Pickled Onions for her Ploughman’s Lunch

Deb from Kahakai Kitchen made a Thirty minute fish supper

Finally me, Jo from Foodjunkie, made Perfect Scones

Actions

Information

8 responses

2 06 2010
Year on the Grill

I am going to check out the pickled onions… great idea

All looks good

2 06 2010
Pam

I also focused on those pickled onions! Though, everything looks great!

2 06 2010
Rachel

What a cool array for our Britishy spread! Great job everyone. I myself am finding a tummy rumble over the digestive biscuits and mango fool!

2 06 2010
Andreas

Nice round-up.
I agree that the pickled onions somehow snare one’s attention. 🙂

2 06 2010
Simona

Thanks, Jo. I must admit, I am partial to scones: I have always been. I am also intrigued by the names of some desserts, like fool and syllabub.

3 06 2010
girlichef

Everything looks and sounds amazing to me…like reading the book all over again! I could have used some of those pickled onions w/ my fish & chips!! And a bit of treacle tart…and syllabub…and mango fool….for dessert 😉 Everything looks delicious and inspired! Thanks for the great pick, Jo!

3 06 2010
Celiacs In The House

What a beautiful collection of food pics. So glad I joined all of you for this one.

15 06 2010
blog from OUR kitchen » fully dressed scones (real food)

[…] Eating for England ROUNDUP (Jo (Foodjunkie) made scones too.) […]

Leave a Reply

